#AFSP16 -Little Rock

As I sit here taking in this breathtaking view from my hotel room in Little Rock, I am still in awe of the journey that brought me here. I am surrounded by so many beautiful individuals from all 50 states who have in one way or another been touched by suicide or mental illness. People who have “gotten their asses kicked and landed face down in the arena” as Brene Brown would say, yet here they are, on their feet once again, determined to make a difference.
My dad would have been 52 years old in a few days, on January 29. I still feel him with me every single day and miss him terribly, we all do.
Dad, I hope you are smiling that beautiful smile… Thank you for all that you gave us while you were here and all that you continue to give in your absence.

#AFSP16
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Leadership Conference

Leave a comment