2016 Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk – San Francisco

image

Over the past two years I’ve found myself on a journey that I never dreamed I would be a part of by joining an army of volunteers for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.  To be quite honest I can say that about the last five years in particular.

I have been thanking God a lot lately as I approach the anniversary of my last sobriety date.  I realize that there are risks in sharing that openly but the rewards of speaking truthfully and the freedom I have found in doing so are far greater than the criticism.  Even when I doubt myself the most, someone will unexpectedly and bravely approach me and say “me too.”

Those experiences let me know that it is worth the risk and that God has a purpose for everything no matter how shameful and painful it may be.

I will be traveling to San Francisco this May for my second Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk, I will be walking for all of the lives lost too soon, for all those who still suffer and for those left behind.  I will be walking in memory of my father, my friend Joani, for Hannah Brewton Brown’s son Samuel T Simmons, for Mindi Wheat and her son Taylor, for Sarah Hope’s sister and Professor Shepp Hope’s daughter Chappell, and all of the beautiful people I have met along the way, the list is endless.

I am asking for your help in reaching my fundraising goal for this event.  If you aren’t able to donate please do not worry.  You can help by clicking on the link and sharing it with others, my story is included on my personal fundraising page.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is full of helpful information and you will also find many ways you can get involved in this incredible movement if interested.  Together we CAN and WILL make a difference.  Love and be kind to one another.

If you or someone you know needs help please call or visit:

1-800-273-TALK  (8255)
http://www.afsp.org
http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org

http://theovernight.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&participantID=17083

Suicide Awareness & Prevention video – My Personal Journey